Uhuru’s message to the nation after being sworn in: Time to unite Kenyans 


President Uhuru Kenyatta was sworn in for a second and final term on Tuesday, November 28, in a grand ceremony at the Kasarani Stadium. In attendance were several foreign heads of states and dignitaries, as well as thousands of Kenyans.

After the official swearing in ceremony, President Kenyatta read a speech whose theme was unity and optimism. The speech also included the President’s vision for the next five years.

“The path to a better future is unity.  I believe that we can build a nation in which we live in peace with our brothers and sisters — whatever part of the country they come from, whichever way we worship God, whatever language we speak,” said the President. 

“Instead of division, I know that we can build a Kenya which prospers by rewarding hard work, and leaving no one behind.”

He urged Kenyans to free themselves from the grievances of the past and to obey the law as they work hard to build a united, stable, and prosperous nation.

The October 26 repeat presidential election brought with it sharp divisions in Kenya along ethnic lines.

“The election was not a contest between a good dream and a bad dream; it was a contest between two competing visions. I believe that those who voted for me chose the better vision. This, however, does not invalidate the aspirations of those who did not vote for me,

“I undertake to be the custodian of the dreams of all, and to be the keeper of the aspirations of those who voted for me and those who did not. I will be the President of all. And I will devote my time and energy to build bridges to unite and bring prosperity to all Kenyans,” said President Uhuru in part. 

Acting Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i had declared Tuesday, November 28 a Public Holiday to enable Kenyans attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Among the heads of state who attended the ceremony were Ethiopia’s Hailemariam Desalegn, Rwanda’s Paul Kagame, Somalia’s Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed, South Sudan’s Salva Kiir, Botswana’s Ian Khama and Uganda’s Yoweri Museveni.